Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Management of components can be done from the Components menu in the Workbench.

Component creation

Selecting Create component allows you to create a component from the current workflow. When you select Create component it opens a dialog.

The dialog allows you to specify:

  • The component registry in which the component will be stored
  • The component family that the component will belong to
  • The name for the component

The name of the component must be unique within the component family

The possible characteristics of the component are determined by the component profile of the component family.

Once you have created the component, it can then be annotated with semantic information.

A component is only stored in the component registry when you save it.

Once a workflow has been changed into a component, the heading and appearance of the workflow diagram will change.

Component opening

To examine the workflow that underlies a component, you can "open" it. The workflow can then be edited and saved as a new version of the component.

To open a component select Open component, which will then show a dialog.

The dialog allows you to specify:

  • The component registry in which the component is stored
  • The component family to which the component belongs
  • The name of the component
  • The version of the component that you want to edit

    If you hover over the component registry, family, name or version, then a description will shown

You can open a version of component earlier than the latest one. In this example, you could choose to open version 4 of the component. When you save the component, it will be created as version 7.

Component copying

 You can copy a component from one family to another family, including a family in another component registry.

It is useful to copy components to a local registry where you can edit and same them, without affecting any users of the original component. Once you are satisfied with your changes, you can merge the component back to its original remote registry.

To copy a component, select Copy component that then shows a dialog.

Within the dialog you choose:

  • The component registry in which the original component is stored
  • The component family to which the original component belongs
  • The name of the original component
  • The component registry in which you want the copy to be stored
  • The component family in which you want the copy to be stored

You can only copy a component into a component family that has the same component profile as the original component family

Only the latest version of the component is copied. The component copy will always start with one version.

For example, even if the original component has nine versions, the component copy will be at version one.

Component merging

Component merging can be used to update a target component with the latest version of a source component. This is normally done when the source component is a local working copy of a component and has been edited. Merge component will open a dialog.

In the dialog you choose:

  • The component registry in which the source component is tored
  • The component family to which the source component belongs
  • The name of the source component
  • The component registry in which the target component is stored
  • The component family to which the target component belongs
  • The name of the target component

Normally the name of the target component will be the same as the name of the source component.

You can only merge a component with another component if they share the same component profile.

Only the latest version of the source component is merged into the target component. So the version of the target component will always be increased by one.

For example, even if the original component has nine versions and the target component has three versions, the target component will have a new version number four.

Closing a component

If you are editing a component, for example after creating or opening it, then once you are satisfied with your changes, you can save and then close the component. To do this select Close component.

If the component has not been saved, then a dialog will appear asking you to confirm you want to lose your changes.

You can also select Close workflow from the File menu.

Labels
  • None