The data and provenance preferences controls how much information Taverna gathers during the running of a workflow, and where it keeps the values that are passed and generated during the workflow run. These preferences can be changed by:
Enable provenance capture
If provenance is enabled then Taverna keeps information about the values that are input and output from services called during the workflow run; those "intermediate values" can be seen in the results view.
If provenance is disabled then you will not be able to see the intermediate values. Taverna will still run the workflow.
You can change whether Taverna keeps intermediate values:
The capture of the intermediate values can be time-consuming for some workflows. The main cases are when data is streamed out of services and when lengthy lists of data are being generated or consumed. When running those workflows it is sensible to disable provenance.
By default Taverna will store the input values, intermediate values and the results of workflow runs in memory. When Taverna is closed the values are lost.
Taverna can also store the values within a database. If Provenance is also enabled, you will be able to see and browse previous runs and their values even after restarting Taverna.
|Where is the data stored?|
The file-based database is stored in the folder
Disabling In-memory Storage can be useful for some workflows where the data that is being passed is large. Note that individual large data item could still make Taverna run out of memory, this depends on the implementation of the different service types.
You can change where Taverna keeps values:
The default combination of provenance capture and in-memory storage is good for most users. Disable In-memory storage and enable Provenance to preserve workflow run data.
Remembering workflow runs
If provenance is enabled and you store your data in the database, then the information about workflow runs is kept when you close Taverna. After you re-start Taverna you are still able to see workflow that were run in previous sessions and to examine their values. You can delete run data you no longer want to keep from the Results perspective.
Some users prefer to let Taverna remember their workflow runs and only save the results to their file system after running a workflow with different inputs. Other users prefer to save the results of each run.
If you click Help then you will obtain help on this dialog. Reset resets the values to the last applied values. Apply takes the shown values and applies them to Taverna.